About Us

Club History

Queanbeyan District Cricket Club is one of the oldest cricket clubs in Australia. Our origins have been traced back to the formation of the Club in 1863 (our original name was the Queanbeyan Cricket Club) when a group of locals, who were looking for a break from the land, decided that the gentlemanly game of cricket was just the thing.

The club has grown and prospered ever since and has a rich history of achievements both on and off the field.

In 2012, the club officially had a place to call home with the building of the Cricket Pavilion at Freebody. This was made possible by the tireless efforts of our long time club patron, Mr Ian McNamee and through the assistance of Dr Mike Kelly (former federal member for Eden-Monaro) as well as the support of Queanbeyan Mayor, Cr Tim Overall.

In 2013 the club celebrated its 150th Anniversary with a gala dinner at the Cricket Pavilion.

We field 5 men’s teams, one Veteran’ team and one women’s team in the Cricket ACT run competition. We also have strong support for junior cricket in the region, mainly through our affiliation with the Queanbeyan and Districts Junior Cricket Club.

The club has a strong sense of community and we pride ourselves on being a family friendly club.

Share This

Share this post with your friends!